QUICK REVIEW: EXO’s ‘CALL ME BABY’

A girl doesn’t ask for much…I really don’t.
And EXO NEVER.DISAPPOINTS.

The last MV I had time to (immediately) spazz blog about was GROWL…by the very same bunch of insanely talented boys men. I too overdosed on…Overdose…

BUT CallMeBaby…*heavy sigh*
I’d let the perfect speak for itself:

*(Korean Version)

_______________

*(Mandarin Version)

#thewholetruthandnothingbutthetruth

There’d been SO MUCH HYPE (“Pathcode puzzles”) surrounding this comeback and the release of their 2nd Full Album: EXODUS (such a good album btw!♥). Worldwide, EXO-L‘s have been waiting for some of the featured tracks they’d been teased with years ago.

I wonder from time to time why do EXO-L‘s (or let’s be honest, any other fandom for that matter) pride themselves so much for their ultimate bias group, but can you blame them? EXO simply confirmed why they are on top of their game:

THEY DO WHAT THEY DO, BEST.

CHOREO.
^^^THIS. What would Kpop be without it?

BLASPHEMOUS!

Kpop prides itself on its DNA of crisp choreography. To all you haters our there, months, YEARS of dedication and training go into this craft.  AND ONCE AGAIN. EXO killed it. My trusty EXO-Larry dropped me a tidbit that the choreography was done by SoYouThinkYouCanDance renowned, award-winning choreographers, Napoleon and Tabitha Dumo. Well, it was bloody brilliant! 😀 Nothing…I repeat, NOTHING compares to well executed choreo by a crew of seriously attractive guys. It was fluid, sexy and powerful. (My dance-line Kai_Lay slayed me time and time again in this tho. They danced EXTRA than usual with their faces…oh my ovaries OTL)

As for an overall video concept, there was the obvious shameless product placement plug that SM Entertainment does so well (LEVEL cordless touch-headphones is what I gathered?)

And OMO. I just realized that, the incredibly annoying GENIE ad that pops up during almost all SMTOWN videos was nowhere to be seen! (as for how long this has been going on, idk, but) I only noticed with this MV because quite frankly I can’t take my eyes off of the beautiful.

*_*

I quite enjoyed the narcissistic display of shiny cars I’d never own, supported by props of laidback, hair all-waxed out,  punky_casual_leather-sporting badboys at the carshop…who pre-game with a dance-set at the end of a hard day’s work, possibly prior to that impending dance battle at the underground club later that night? LOL 😛 I mean, even my lil squishy Kyungsoo brung face 🙂

This MV concept was incredibly enjoyable IMO. Granted the overall formula of this MV isn’t anything different to what we expect of EXO (or SM Ent.) but why fix something if it aint broke? I found it very playful with the transitions (& capitalizing on choreo). It was all effortless, it was sassy, it was teasing 😉

………………….

As a song, I have had the album on repeat since it dropped and I stand by it being the PERFECT TRACK to kick off the entire eargasm which awaits you as an album on the whole. I can’t ever sit still when listening to this. It sounds so fresh yet so ole-skool at the same time. It is exactly my kind of layered beats jam. Each and every sound on it can lead the track in a completely different direction every time you listen to it. I swear. #truestory.
Oh EXO, you left me physically exhausted post-viewing these MVs, I think I even induced a headache from enjoyment overload. Can’t wait to see the promo perfs for this! Congrats on another spectacular comeback! 😀

Yay!

*All gifs were randomly sourced from GoogleSearch for their blogpost relevance and in no way meant to reflect an intentionally biased opinion of members.*

Leave a comment